Latest News Banner

Eighteen Montana Communities Awarded Community Development Block Grant Planning Funds

Wednesday, October 26, 2016/Categories: Community Development Division, Community Development Block Grant Program

HELENA – Eighteen Montana local governments have been awarded funds to help complete long-range community planning projects through the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program administered by the Montana Department of Commerce. The program awarded just over $500,000 to communities and counties across the state during this grant cycle.

“It is an honor to help forward-thinking Towns, Cities, and Counties obtain the necessary planning that helps ensure successful projects and contributes to the development of vibrant and resilient communities.” said Director Meg O’Leary.

The Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program awards grants to cities, towns, and counties to develop and preserve decent affordable housing, to provide services to the most vulnerable in our communities, and to create and retain jobs. CDBG provides funding and technical assistance to help local governments plan for future growth and development, develop specific plans for individual projects, and take action to address community needs.

Award recipients include:

  • Madison County: $20,000 for the preparation of a Master Plan for the County Fairgrounds.
  • Anaconda- Deer Lodge County: $22,000 for an Active Transportation Plan.
  • Chouteau County: $25,000 to prepare the Missouri River Medical Center Preliminary Architectural Report and Financial Feasibility on the proposed Master Plan expansion.
  • Town of Ekalaka: $25,000 to help prepare a Master Plan with Floodplain Analysis.
  • City of Glendive: $25,000 to prepare a Downtown Master Plan.
  • City of Helena: $25,000 to develop Form-Based Code for Downtown Helena.
  • Town of Hobson: $25,000 to help prepare a Growth Policy and Capital Improvements Plan.
  • Town of Plevna: $25,000 for the development of Zoning Regulations.
  • Custer County: $30,000 for the preparation of a Capital Improvements Plan.
  • Blaine County: $30,000 to prepare a Capital Improvements Plan and update Subdivision Regulations.
  • Lake County: $30,000 to update the County Growth Policy.
  • City of Hamilton: $15,000 to prepare a Preliminary Architectural Report for the Head Start project.
  • City of Lewistown: $35,000 to prepare a Preliminary Architectural Report for the historic Broadway Building.
  • Lewis and Clark County: $35,000 to prepare a Preliminary Architectural Report for West Mont.
  • Ravalli County: $13,333 to prepare a Preliminary Engineering Report to study the County’s wastewater system.
  • Flathead County: $40,000 for the preparation of a Preliminary Architectural report to evaluate the County’s adult detention facility and expansion options.
  • City of Whitefish: $40,000 to prepare an Affordable Workforce Housing Plan.
  • Hill County: $40,000 to prepare a System Wide Improvement Framework (SWIF) Plan.

The goal of the CDBG planning program is to help empower local governments and communities across the state by building the capacity, resiliency, and resource base necessary to develop strong, vibrant communities and fund projects that principally benefit Montana’s low to moderate income households and individuals.  For more information about the CDBG planning program, contact the Community Development Division by phone at 406-841-2770 or via e-mail at

The map below shows the distribution of CDBG Planning Grants in this cycle.  Circles represent grantees that are cities and towns, and stars in highlighted areas indicate county recipients.


301 S. PARK AVE. | PO BOX 200501 | HELENA, MT 59620-0501 | P: 406.841.2700 | F: 406.841.2701 | TDD: 406.841.2702