Latest News Banner

Lt. Gov. Cooney and Director Rice Present Awards to Industry Leaders Who Support Affordable Homes in Montana

Tuesday, June 18, 2019/Categories: Community Development Division, Montana Housing

Lori Davidson, center, honored with 2019 Lifetime Housing Champion Award

BILLINGS, Mont. – Lieutenant Governor Mike Cooney and Montana Department of Commerce Director Tara Rice today presented awards to Montana’s housing champions during the Annual Housing Partnership Conference. These awards are presented to individuals and organizations that have shown extraordinary success supporting development, ownership, and advocacy of affordable homes in Montana.

“These housing champions have spent much of their careers focused on strengthening our vibrant communities with their passion, commitment and ability to collaborate public, private partnerships,” Lt. Gov. Cooney said. “It’s people like these who truly make a difference in their communities by creating homes that Montanans can afford.”

Housing Champion awards were presented to:

  • U.S. Senator Jon Tester
    • Lawmaker of the Year Award
    • Moved bipartisan bills forward that increase access to affordable homes, including continued funding for the HOME Program, Community Development Block Grants, Montana NeighborWorks Public Housing and Housing Choice Voucher programs
    • Continued support of the Housing Tax Credit Program
    • Supporter of homeless Veterans through the HUD-VASH Voucher Program, and secured funding for a home for retired veterans
  • State Senator Margie MacDonald
    • 2019 Legislative Champion Award
    • Carried legislation during the 2019 session supporting affordable home development and preservation
  • Lori Davidson, Executive Director, Missoula Housing Authority
    • 2019 Lifetime Champion of Housing Award
    • Administers 12 housing programs for the Missoula area and has helped develop or preserve 492 affordable homes 
  • Thomas Jefferson, Commissioner, Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority
    • Mountain Plains NAHRO Commissioner Service Award
  • Yvonne Kelley, Senior Loan Officer, Fairway Independent Mortgage
    • 2019 Montana Housing Top Producing Loan Officer – Eastern Region
  • Teresa Gilreath and Ian Ullman, First Interstate Bank of Billings
    • 2019 Top Producing Lender Award
  • City of Billings
    • 2019 Montana Housing Partner Award
  • Mann Mortgage
    • 2019 Montana Housing Top Participating Lender Award



301 S. PARK AVE. | PO BOX 200501 | HELENA, MT 59620-0501 | P: 406.841.2700 | F: 406.841.2701 | TDD: 406.841.2702

We use cookies. We want to make our website more user-friendly and continuously improve it. If you continue to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.