STATE OF MONTANA

Communications Advisory Commission Minutes

June 8, 2021

1. OPEN MEETING 10:30

Director Foster called the Communications Advisory Commission to order. Senator Jason Ellsworth, Vice-chair Director Misty Ann Giles, Senator Dan Salomon, Senator Janet Ellis, Representative Mike Hopkins, Representative Ed Buttrey, Representative Katie Sullivan, Director Scott Osterman, and Director Scott Sales were present. Each member of the Commission introduced themselves.

The commission established rules for proxy voting and agreed a voting member may carry the proxy of another voting member established in writing prior to the beginning of the meeting.

Representative Hopkins moved to nominate Senator Ellsworth to the chair of the commission. Passed unanimously by voice vote.

Chair Ellsworth called for nomination for Vice Chair, Representative Buttrey nominated Director Giles. Passed unanimously by voice vote.

Chair Ellsworth moved to make the rules of the Senate at the standing rules of this Commission. Passed unanimously by voice vote.

2. ARPA PROGRAM UPDATE 10:45

Director Foster reviewed HB 632, SB 297, the American Rescue Plan, the U.S. Treasury Interim Final, and the FAQs with the Commission. Director Foster reported that the website and call center is operational and as of this week there has been 1,020 contacts.

Chair Ellsworth asked that is anyone has a conflict in any capacity

3. FUNDING UPDATE 11:00

Budget Director Alme, OBPP discussed the American Rescue Plan Act Summary MT Estimated Funding allocation spreadsheet. Director Alme advised the commission that the allocation for this commission is four hundred fifty-nine million. Director Alme also discussed that the state that were in a better position, better unemployment rates were allocated half of the nine hundred sixty million.

4. HANDLING OF PUBLIC COMMENT 11:27

Chair Ellsworth expressed that he wants to public to have the ability to comment on all aspects of the commission.

Director Foster provided guidance on handling of public comment and described the new web intake process for public comment.

Chair Ellsworth asked Director Osterman and Director Foster work together on a firm plan on how public comment will be accepted.

5. PRESENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 11:37

Director Osterman reviewed the scope of HB 632 and SB 297, timelines, deadlines, Broadband Task Force, and Mapping as it relates to broadband program being administered at the Department of Commerce.

6. PUBLIC COMMENT

The Chair opened up the floor for general public comment to the commission. Public comments were provided in person.

7. OTHER 13:39

Chair Ellsworth and Director Foster discussed deadlines and upcoming meeting dates. Director Foster stated that he would like to schedule monthly meetings, with the next meeting scheduled for July 13, 2021. Chair Ellsworth stated that this Commission could likely meet quite often and if the Commissioners need to meet remotely please do.

8. Adjourn 14:03

Chair Ellsworth adjourned the meeting at 2:03 p.m.