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EXHIBIT 9-H 
 

CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION LAW 
 

http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/39_9_1.htm 
39-9-101 et. seq., Montana Codes Annotated 

 

Links to the following 
Montana Contractor 
Registration Agencies 
can be found at: 
http://mtcontractor.com/ 

~ Construction 
Contractor Registration 
Unit  

~ Independent 
Contractor Central Unit  

Registration Documents 
are available for 
download at:  

http://mtcontractor.com 

~ Approved Contractor 
Registration List 

~ Construction 
Contractor Registration 
Requirements 

~ Construction 
Contractors 
Registration Application 

~ Corporate Officer 
Coverage Requirements 

~ Independent 
Contractor Application 
Instructions and 
Affidavit Form  

CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR 
REGISTRATION     

The purpose of Construction Contractor Registration: 
to assure that all construction contractors are competing 
fairly and are in compliance with the workers' 
compensation laws. 
 
The law also provides for protection from upward 
migration of workers' compensation liability. If the 
construction contractor is registered and in good standing 
on the date the contract begins, the liability for workers' 
compensation accidents will not be the responsibility of 
the general contractor or the homeowner. There is also a 
provision for an industry and consumer education 
program. 
 
All construction contractors must register, with some 
limited exemptions. The most notable exemption is for 
construction contractors without employees. These 
individuals may register if they want. The Construction 
Contractor Registration cost is $53. The Independent 
Contractor Exemption Certificate costs $125.00.  Both are 
good for two years. 
 
The department provides a list of all registered 
construction contractors. This list is available in hard 
copy, on the State Bulletin Board or on the Internet. 
 
If a contractor does not register, there is a provision for a 
penalty of up to $500. If a construction contractor falsifies 
a registration or uses a falsified registration, there is a 
penalty of not more than $5,000. 
 

Construction Contractor Registration Unit 
 Montana Department of Labor & Industry 

http://mtcontractor.com 
1805 Prospect Avenue/ PO Box 8011 

Helena, MT 59604-8011 
(406) 444-7734 
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CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 

http://mtcontractor.com 

Who has to register? All construction contractors and subcontractors in the building and 
construction industry that have employees. 

How do I become a registered contractor?  Complete a contractor registration 
application. Provide proof of workers' compensation coverage. Complete an independent 
contractor exemption affidavit (if not a corporation or a manager-managed limited liability 
company) or provide proof of workers' compensation on yourself. Submit a $53 
registration fee. 

What if I am an independent contractor with no employees? The law exempts 
construction "independent contractors" without employees from registering, although they 
can choose to register. 

Why would I want to register? Many general contractors will hire only registered 
contractors to protect themselves from upward migration of liability. If a contractor hires 
an unregistered independent contractor, (even if that person has a workers' 
compensation exemption), the contractor still risks the consequences of liability for 
workers' compensation should an individual be hurt on the job. 

Can I be penalized if I don't register?  Yes, the registration law provides for a $500 
maximum penalty for construction contractors who aren't registered. It also allows for a 
$5,000 fine for falsely transferring a registration certificate. 

Is a test required to become a registered contractor?  No test is required. 

I only perform a few odd jobs during the summer. Do I have to be registered?  If the 
total of both labor and materials does not exceed $2,500 for the entire job, you do not 
have to register. 

I'm an out-of-state contractor bidding work in Montana. Are there any special 
requirements I might want to know about?  Montana's workers' compensation law 
does not allow coverage from other states' workers' compensation plans in the 
construction industry. If you are only bidding jobs in Montana, you may ask for a "Bid 
Only" registration. When you come to work in Montana, you must have a workers' 
compensation policy specific to Montana. Construction companies with "Bid Only" 
certificates must upgrade their registration to "Employer" status before they can have 
employees working in Montana. 

Do I need to advise the Department of Labor & Industry Employment Relations 
Division if the name or address of my business changes?  Yes. If you are changing 
only the name or the address under which your business is registered, you do not have 
to reregister. However, you do need to notify the Employment Relations Division in 

http://mtcontractor.com/
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writing. 

Can my spouse or child take over my business and registration? Your spouse can. 
If your child takes over the business, it is considered a new business and the child must 
register under his or her name. 

What are the costs? The Construction Contractor Registration cost is $53. The 
Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate costs $125.00. Both are good for two 
years.  There is no “2 for 1” deal. 

What is the difference between Contractor Registration and the Independent 
Contractor exemption? Construction Contractor Registration is a new law mandated by 
the 1995 legislature, requiring contractors in the construction industry to register with the 
state. This registration ensures contractors are complying with all employment laws, such 
as workers' compensation. The independent contractor exemption, which exempts the 
holder from carrying workers' compensation coverage, has been around since 1983. The 
exemption deals with what independent business people called "independent 
contractors." Individuals seeking independent contractor status may get the exemption 
affidavit from the Department of Labor and Industry. 

If you have questions, please call or write: 
 

Construction Contractor Registration Unit 
http://mtcontractor.com/ 

Workers' Compensation Regulation Bureau 
Employment Relations Division 

PO Box 8011 
Helena, MT 59604-8011 

(406) 444-7734 
 

For your convenience, Job Service Offices have application forms. 
 

 

http://mtcontractor.com/

	EXHIBIT 9-H
	CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS
	http://mtcontractor.com
	Who has to register? All construction contractors and subcontractors in the building and construction industry that have employees.
	How do I become a registered contractor?  Complete a contractor registration application. Provide proof of workers' compensation coverage. Complete an independent contractor exemption affidavit (if not a corporation or a manager-managed limited liability company) or provide proof of workers' compensation on yourself. Submit a $53 registration fee.
	What if I am an independent contractor with no employees? The law exempts construction "independent contractors" without employees from registering, although they can choose to register.
	Why would I want to register? Many general contractors will hire only registered contractors to protect themselves from upward migration of liability. If a contractor hires an unregistered independent contractor, (even if that person has a workers' compensation exemption), the contractor still risks the consequences of liability for workers' compensation should an individual be hurt on the job.
	Can I be penalized if I don't register?  Yes, the registration law provides for a $500 maximum penalty for construction contractors who aren't registered. It also allows for a $5,000 fine for falsely transferring a registration certificate.
	Is a test required to become a registered contractor?  No test is required.
	I only perform a few odd jobs during the summer. Do I have to be registered?  If the total of both labor and materials does not exceed $2,500 for the entire job, you do not have to register.
	I'm an out-of-state contractor bidding work in Montana. Are there any special requirements I might want to know about?  Montana's workers' compensation law does not allow coverage from other states' workers' compensation plans in the construction industry. If you are only bidding jobs in Montana, you may ask for a "Bid Only" registration. When you come to work in Montana, you must have a workers' compensation policy specific to Montana. Construction companies with "Bid Only" certificates must upgrade their registration to "Employer" status before they can have employees working in Montana.
	Do I need to advise the Department of Labor & Industry Employment Relations Division if the name or address of my business changes?  Yes. If you are changing only the name or the address under which your business is registered, you do not have to reregister. However, you do need to notify the Employment Relations Division in writing.
	Can my spouse or child take over my business and registration? Your spouse can. If your child takes over the business, it is considered a new business and the child must register under his or her name.
	What is the difference between Contractor Registration and the Independent Contractor exemption? Construction Contractor Registration is a new law mandated by the 1995 legislature, requiring contractors in the construction industry to register with the state. This registration ensures contractors are complying with all employment laws, such as workers' compensation. The independent contractor exemption, which exempts the holder from carrying workers' compensation coverage, has been around since 1983. The exemption deals with what independent business people called "independent contractors." Individuals seeking independent contractor status may get the exemption affidavit from the Department of Labor and Industry.


