Little Shell Chippewa Tribe Chairman Elected New Chair of the Montana State Tribal Economic Development Commission

Gerald Gray HELENA – The Office of Indian Country Economic Development at the Montana Department of Commerce announced today that Gerald Gray, Chairman of the Little Shell Chippewa Tribe, was elected as the new Chair of the Montana State Tribal Economic Development Commission (STEDC). Gray is in his fourth three-year term with STEDC.

“I’m excited to be a part of the commission, which helps guide Tribes in economic development and fosters economic growth among Montana’s Tribal Nations,” Gray said. Gray replaces former STEDC Chairwoman Shelly Fyant.

STEDC works in a government-to-government relationship to expand and improve economic prosperity opportunities through business expansion, capital access, manufacturing, tourism, agriculture, and community development. The Governor appoints eleven members, including one from each of the eight Tribal governments in Montana.

Established in the Native American Economic Development Act of 1999, the commission gathers for quarterly public meetings throughout Montana.
Other members include:

Richard Sangrey, Vice-Chair, Chippewa Cree Tribe
Cheryl Reevis, Blackfeet Tribe
Jennifer Finley, Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes
Shawn Real Bird, Crow Tribe
Delina Cuts the Rope, Fort Belknap Indian Community
Bryce Kirk, Fort Peck Tribes
Melissa Fisher, Northern Cheyenne Tribe
Misty Kuhl, Governor’s Office of Indian Affairs
Scott Osterman, Montana Department of Commerce Director